DNN Guide Permission Based Content Display

Clarity eCommerce | The eCommerce Platform to Scale and Grow Your Business
Beginner's Guide on DNN User Roles and Permission-Based Content Display

What are the DNN User Roles and Their Permissions?

DNN permission-based content display depends entirely on website permission and user roles. Administrators can control which user can access which specific pages and modules. It gives the administrator more control and allows them to give control to other users. The default Security roles are given to Administrators, Subscribers, and Registered users. All are explained below:

Administrators

Administrators have the most website permissions and full access to the website. The administrator can add, edit, and delete pages and modules on the site. This default Administrator role cannot be deleted or edited in any way. He can implicitly deny the user roles to any user. These users have authorized access to Solutions Explorer, Pages, What's new, Additional pages, and site full access.

Subscribers

Registered users are subscribers that are added to the user role by default. All the registered users can unsubscribe and subscribe to this user role under membership services on the Profile module. However, the administrator can delete or edit this user role and restrict the user roles.

Registered Users

Registered users are also a member of this role. They can manage the settings of their profiles. Unauthorized users cannot get access to modules and pages. The administrator cannot delete or edit this role. These are some options available on the user role and website permissions page:

  • All Users: These are all site visitors. It doesn't matter if they are registered users or logged in. Admin can give them access to pages and modules.
  • Registered Users: Only registered users of the site are the members.
  • Subscribers: It works by membership service on profile. Authenticated users can unsubscribe or re-subscribe.
  • Module Deployer: Module Deployer is used on Extension page. A person with this user role can add one or more types of modules.
  • Page Editors: This user with user role has access to Edit content (Evoq content) permissions on DNN platform of page.
  • Module Editors: This user with user role has access to Edit content (Evoq content) permissions on DNN platform of module.
  • Unauthenticated Users: These are the users who are not logged into the site. It is not displayed on Security roles.
Granular Control Down to Individual Modules

Comparing Different Content Display Levels

You can restrict view and manage pages and modules if your user role is displayed in security roles. Website permissions and user roles are based on role-based access. Administrators have the most powerful control; they can check and manage which user with security roles can access and edit, manage pages and modules. These website permissions and user roles are very important for the content to be transparent and Complaint with DNN policies. There are three different levels on which DNN allows permission-based content display.

Module-Level

DNN content control works in different ways. For example, modules are shown to the viewers and easily accessible. If viewers have a module(s) displayed, then the public can enter a specific URL in a browser and see the page.

Each module has its display settings available on-page. Viewers can edit or view the module as there is an option available in settings to the checkmark or not, meaning giving accessibility or not. The settings are displayed in a grid with checkboxes corresponding to earch user role where if you checkmark any options in settings, then those specific categories would be able to hold control and edit/views the content. If you don't checkmark any option, then all controls are limited to Administrators.

Administrators would easily access the modules and if it's "On" then it won't lock everyone out of the module. The administration group is default "On" so it has access to the module. You also have the option of Inherit view permissions from the page, which can set the module setting to inherit permission from the existing page via the checkbox on the permission page.

Page-Level

As each module can be used by specific users, each page of DNN is also designed to be edit or viewed only by a selected user group. The page-level permission dashboard looks very similar to the module settings dashboard.

Functioning similar to the module display rules, if you checkmark "All users" then the page is set to be edited and viewed by All users just not restricted to Administrators. It depends if you see a green checkmark in front of the available options and to whom you want to give control website control.

Parent Page-Level

Sometimes you have to allow whole website permission control to someone as your partner or someone from Company. You can give the website permission to someone by clicking on the "Copy Permissions" button at the end of the permission setting page. In this way, you are not allowing just view/edit some part but allowing website permission and user roles. This is how your partner or agency has control over more on some sections of the website.

Clarity Ventures DNN Experts

Other DNN Articles & Resources

Request a Quote
 
Please feel free to send any associated files to us at:
[email protected]
 
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use
Click anywhere outside this form to close.
Request a Demo
 
Please feel free to send any associated files to us at:
[email protected]
 
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use
Click anywhere outside this form to close.
Ask an Expert
 
Please feel free to send any associated files to us at:
[email protected]
 
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use
Click anywhere outside this form to close.
Newsletter
 
Please feel free to send any associated files to us at:
[email protected]
 
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use
Click anywhere outside this form to close.